1919-2019 A centenary brand

In 1919, in Saint-Etienne, France, Mercier cycles were born. For many decades, the brand paved the way for cycling developments. To promote the brand, Emile - the original - and his brothers Marcel and Constant had an audacious idea for the time: to associate their young business with a professional racing team. This happened in 1933.

La manufacture Mercier, à Saint-Etienne, en 1937

The Mercier fabrication, Saint Etienne, 1937

A family business, a century of passion

In 2019, Emile Mercier, son and nephew of the founders, revived the brand to relaunch it with a line of clothes dedicated to road cycling. To lead this new chapter and maintain the historic values of the brand, Emile partnered with Alexis Descollonges to form a passionate and complementary team.

Mercier Service des courses - 1975

Mercier racing services, 1975 ©www.speedbicycles.ch

Our mission

Road cycling is a mythological experience, with its dramas and heros. The roads and mountains are transformed into ancient theatres which reunite, when summer arrives, several thousand spectators to witness the crowning of their champions.

Mercier exists to celebrate the glorious history of cycling but also to share its values. For Mercier, cycling is more than a sport.

Mercier aims to address those passionate about the sport, for whom performance is not the end goal but rather a way to challenge one’s self and connect with history, nature, others and oneself. Cycling is a global, social experience.

Raymond Poulidor et Antonin Magne

Raymond Poulidor and Antonin Magne, Sports Director.

French Conception

Over two years of development were necessary to refine these beautiful and high-performance pieces. To achieve this, Mercier collaborated with experts in the cycling industry as well as those beyond, from the outdoor industry and more specifically those of mountains and skiing. Thus, our patrons and stylists are based in Annecy and Chamonix, respectively the capital and cradle of the outdoor industry in France. For Mercier, this allows us to assert and perpetuate our innovative heritage.

Our products are made in the EU, by hand in Northern Italy. The majority of our textiles used in fabrication, specifically of the bib-shorts and jerseys, are made in France in the Rhone-Alpes area. The rest of the production comes from Italy, 150km from our workshop. Working in such a small geographic area allows Mercier to control the supply and quality of our materials, of course, but also to invest in the knowledge of our partners.

Designed in France.

Ecological impact

By working across a limited parameter, we also limit our needs for transport and thus our ecological impact on the planet. Our fabric comes from France and our supplier is certified Oeko-tex standard 100. This means our entire textile production has a limited impact on the environment.

When it comes to packaging, we avoid useless items and only use recycled materials. This is why our items are delivered in tissue paper rather than individual plastic packets.

Finally, purchasing a Mercier item, also means purchasing something that has been designed to last and thus avoid the need to replace it regularly. Choosing quality is good for the planet.

Limited ecological impact

1919-2019 Une marque centenaire

C'est en 1919, à Saint-Étienne, en France, que naissent les cycles Mercier. Durant plusieurs décennies, la marque à la couronne accompagnera le développement du cyclisme. Pour promouvoir la marque, Émile - premier du nom - et ses frères Marcel et Constant ont une idée audacieuse pour l'époque : doter leur jeune entreprise d'une équipe de coureurs professionnelle. C'est chose faite dès 1933.

La manufacture Mercier, à Saint-Etienne, en 1937
La manufacture Mercier, à Saint-Étienne, en 1937.

Une entreprise familiale, un siècle de passion

En 2019, Émile Mercier deuxième du nom, fils et neveu des fondateurs, réveille la belle endormie et la relance avec des vêtements dédiés à la pratique du cyclisme sur route. Pour conduire ce renouveau et perpétuer les valeurs historiques de la marque, Émile s'associe à Alexis Descollonges pour former un duo passionné et complémentaire.

Mercier Service des courses - 1975
Mercier Service des courses - 1975. ©http://www.speedbicycles.ch

Notre mission

Le cyclisme sur route est une expérience mythologique, avec sa dramaturgie et ses héros. Les routes et les cols se transforment ainsi en théâtres antiques où se réunissent, l'été venu, plusieurs milliers de spectateurs pour assister au sacre de leurs champions.

Mercier existe pour célébrer l'histoire glorieuse du cyclisme mais aussi et surtout partager des valeurs. Pour Mercier, le cyclisme est plus qu'un sport. 

Mercier s'adresse aux passionnés pour qui la performance n'est pas une fin en soi, mais le moyen de se dépasser et de se connecter à l'histoire, à la nature, aux autres et à soi-même. Le cyclisme est une expérience sociale globale.

Raymond Poulidor et Antonin Magne
Raymond Poulidor et Antonin Magne, Directeur sportif. Don't f**k with the DS.

Conception française

Plus de deux années de développement auront été nécessaires pour mettre au point des produits à la fois beaux et performants. Pour y parvenir, Mercier s'est entouré de collaborateurs issus du cyclisme bien sûr, mais aussi de l'industrie outdoor, et plus particulièrement de l'univers de la montagne et du ski. Ainsi, nos patroniers et stylistes sont situés à Annecy et Chamonix, respectivement capitale et berceau de l'industrie outdoor française. Pour Mercier, ce choix permet d'affirmer sa singularité et de perpétuer ainsi la tradition d'innovation.

Nos produits sont confectionnés au sein de l'Union européenne, à la main, dans le nord de l'Italie. La majorité des textiles utilisés pour la fabrication, notamment les cuissards et maillots, sont produits en France, en région Rhône-Alpes. Le reste de la production vient d'Italie, à 150 km de notre atelier de confection. Travailler dans un périmètre géographique restreint permet à Mercier de contrôler l'approvisionnement et la qualité des matières, bien sûr, mais surtout de miser sur le savoir-faire de nos partenaires.

Conception réalisée en France.

Empreinte écologique

En travaillant dans un périmètre restreint, nous limitons également les transports et les déplacements, et donc l'impact écologique sur la planète. Nos tissus sont fabriqués en France et notre fournisseur est labellisé Oeko-tex standard 100. Cela signifie que notre production textile a une empreinte limitée sur l'environnement.

Pour le packaging, pas d'emballages inutiles et uniquement des matières recyclables. C'est pour cela que nos produits vous seront livrés dans du papier de soie plutôt que dans des emballages plastiques individuels.

Enfin, acquérir un produit Mercier, c'est acquérir un bien conçu pour durer et ainsi éviter d'avoir à le remplacer régulièrement. Le choix de la qualité est bon pour la planète !
Empreinte écologique réduite.